What if I got injured but it did not persist for long?
You have 5 years to bring most personal injury claims. However, you don't really have much of a claim if you weren't injured. At the very least the defendant should pay your medical bills and give you something for pain and suffering.
Yes. I suggest you consult with an attorney to discuss the details of your case.
Depends on the way you were injured. Go see an attorney.
You can usually file for any type of personal injury. However, the value of your case typically depends on the length of time that your injury persists. Without having more information regarding your injury, I have no way to advise you further.
You have a two year statute of limitations to commence a personal injury negligence law suit unless it was automobile caused, in which case you have three years.
There can be some transaction costs in making a personal injury claim, so it is necessary to consider whether it is worth it. You should probably call an attorney to discuss the particular facts of your situation.
In Missouri for most cases there is a five year statute of limitations. You need to see a lawyer ASAP
Depending on the nature and circumstances of the injury you can still make a claim for the injury, but if it was a "short term" injury of no real significance the recovery may be small
One may file a claim for any injury , however, it's not usually a good idea to make a mountain out of a molehill. Your minor claim could impact upon some future serious injury and prejudice (unfairly) your recovery when there is truly severe damage done to you. Consult counsel.
In Mississippi if you were injured due to the negligence of someone else you can file suit to recover for your injury provided you do so within the applicable statute of limitations period, which is 3 years for most negligence claims, but can be as short as 1 year depending on the status of the defendant. Your injury not lasting for long does not affect your right to file suit for the injury, although it will make a difference on the amount of damages you are entitled to recover.
Two year statute of limitations in Iowa from date of injury.
The length of time the injury "persisted" only may affect the value of your case; it should not affect whether you can or should file a claim. Assuming the statute of limitations, as well as any other procedural requirements, has not expired, you can still file a personal injury claim. You do not indicate how you were injured so I cannot answer whether the statute of limitations has expired or whether there are any requirements you must comply with before you can make a claim. If the statute of limitations or other requirement has passed, you would be barred from pursuing your claim. I would strongly suggest contacting a personal injury attorney to discuss your case. Most offer a free initial consultation and you can then decide whether to pursue your case and if you are still within the statute of limitations period.
Yes, depending on how long ago it has been. The statute of limitation is 2 years. We can discuss this in more detail if you would like, just contact the office, we offer free consultations.
Even if your injuries were minor you can still maintain a personal injury claim. Obviously minor injuries would bring a lesser recovery than more serious injuries.
You can always file a personal injury case, provided you file within three years of the date of the injury. The question is, should you file if your injuries and damages are minimal, or did not persist for very long? That really depends on what you intend to invest in the endeavor. If you bring a small claims case where the cap on damages is $7500, and you represent yourself, then it might make sense, although you will still be required to produce expert testimony with respect to any medical treatment and perhaps causation. Expert testimony costs money, so it depends on whether that investment is worth any potential recovery.
Then it might not be worth pursuing. See if you can interest a lawyer.
You don't mention the injury, but in general, you need a permanent injury to prevail in a personal injury case.
Even if your injury was not permanent, you can still request compensation for your pain and suffering, your inconvenience, and your lost wages and other expenses. Many injury law firms handle smaller cases by filing in their states' version of small claims court. In Virginia, the General District Court handles cases with a value of up to $25,000. Usually, an experienced personal injury attorney can obtain a result in such a court within a few months. Many of thes case also settle once the insurance company realizes that the attorney is serious and willing to try the case.
Depends on how long you waited and the type of case. Speak with a lawyer immediately.
I would really need to have more details to answer your question. I don't know how long it has been since your accident, and I don't know what type of accident you had. There are time deadlines that must be met. As to your question about your pain and suffering not lasting long, again, it depends on what type of claim you are seeking. With an auto accident, for example, if you don't have any broken bones or scarring, you need over $2000 in medical bills.
Consult with a personal injury lawyer regarding the possible relief you may be entitled to for your injuries and inconvenience due to the accident.
You can, but sometimes it is not worth it. About all you will be able to recover is medical bills and any wages you lost, if any. If health insurance paid your medical bills, it may not be worth it. If you had to pay the bills, you may want to bring your own case in Small Claims Court (that is if the responsible party refuses to pay the bills).
You have 3 yrs from date of injury. If your injury is slight, what profit to you to file suit? even if you don't have a lawyer to pay you must pay filing fees and sheriffs fees up front. Lawsuits drag on and are a nuisance to worry and fret about and attend to. Is it worth it?
More information is needed: liability is always the first question, that is whether some party is legally obligated to respond in damages. It is vastly different, for example between a public sidewalk or a commercial construction site. As for the injuries, the question is whether it will be worthwhile to pursue. So, we would need to know what the injuries were, how long recovery took, what the medical procedures were, out of pocket expenses and loss of income.
You have given me insufficient facts upon which I can frame a response. If your injury arose as a result of an automobile accident, before you can recover your noneconomic damages, you must have sustained a permanent injury, impairment or scarring. If your injury "did not persist for long" then if it was an auto accident, you can only collect your actual expenses which PIP didn't pay. Other accidents, like a slip and fall, you can collect for temporary injuries if the landowner was negligent.
You still have a claim. Not every claim is a big one; some are just small claims.
It depends on a many number of factors. Personal injury claims have a statute of limitations of two years in Nevada, so call an attorney to see if you may still qualify for additional compensation.
If it is worth filing. If the case is not worth much money, it may not be worth your time.
I recently settled a case for $11,000.00 with Progressive in a auto accident case when my client went to the emergency room but did not follow up with any other healthcare provider afterwards. Don't be a fool, see a lawyer.
All civil cases have two components: (1) Liability and (2) Damages. You need both to pursue a claim. If the damages are minimal, it does not mean you have no case. It simply means you ought to try to resolve it without the need for going to court or perhaps going to small claims court rather than superior court. For personal injury cases you can seek damages up to $10,000 now in small claims, but only $7,500 if the other driver is insured.
You can still file a claim. The value of your claim is based on the severity and duration of your injury. Even if it was not severe and lasted a short time, it still has value and is worth pursuing.
You should consult with an attorney concerning the details of your case. The attorney will be able to determine what possible claims may exist, as well as, how much time you may have to file your claim. The attorney will be able to such questions as: who was at fault, what injuries did you receive, how did you treat for those injuries, how long was treatment and did you miss any time from work as a result of the accident.
You can and should make a claim if the injury occurred less than two years ago and was caused by someone else's fault.
If you were injured in an automobile accident, you can recover your medical expenses and lost wages during your period of recuperation, even if you don't have a permanent injury.
If more tha 2 years ago , no.
If the other person is at fault, you can bring a claim but will be awardws only to compensate to the extent of your injury.
You have the right to bring a claim even if you only had a small anount of hurt that went away. Of course, be prepared that a small amount of money is the proper compensation for a small amount of hurt. You may be able to settle with the insurance company without hiring a lawyer. I would call them and see if they are willing to be fair. If not, call a lawyer and see if they will handle your claim. Good luck!
The statute of limitations is four years.
Ask a local attorney a question for FREE.
FREE answer from a local attorney.
Your email is only used to send answers to you.